Haakon Haakonsson Award

The Haakon Haakonsson award was started in the early 1990’s by the founder of the Canadian Birkebeiner, Brian Peters. It is an award that is exclusive to the Canadian Birkebeiner and recognizes dedication to the Birkebeiner tradition. Skier from all over Canada, the USA and other countries have won this award.

It is presented to skiers who complete the long distance events (classic or skating) in all three International Birkebeiner Events – the Norwegian, American and Canadian Birkebeiners. The events, ranging from 47 km (American) to 55 km (Canadian) to 54 km (Norwegian), need not be skied in one winter season.

Skiers are presented with a handmade pottery stein featuring hand written text and Viking runes, and each skier’s names is displayed on our permanent trophy, the CANBi Shield on display at our office. CANBi stands for Canadian, American, Norwegian Birkebeiners.

From 1991 to 2023, there have been 199 skiers presented with the Haakon Haakonsson Award! Click here to see the recipients.

Back to Awards